Bontrager Earns All-Conference Honors for Fourth Year in a Row

Bontrager Earns All-Conference Honors for Fourth Year in a Row

Senior Leah Bontrager earns all-conference honors at the SEISC Cross Country at Heritage Oaks Golf Course.

Senior Leah Bontrager earned all-conference honors for the fourth year in a row at the Southeast Iowa Super Conference cross country meet Thursday.  Wapello hosted the conference meet on the gently rolling Heritage Oaks Golf Course just outside of Morning Sun.  Bontrager placed seventh in the field of sixty-six runners.  The top 15 earn all-conference honors.  Her time was 22:08 on the 5.07 kilometer course.  “This was Leah’s best effort of the year.  In fact, the entire Lady Raven cross country team recorded season best times despite the course being longer than 5k!”  Delaney Shaw was the next Raven finisher placing thirty-seventh in 26:05.  Shaw had the team’s biggest improvement on their season best.  Morgyn Nafziger placed sixtieth in 28:33, while senior Julia Boller was one place back in 28:40.  Lauren Derscheid of Pekin won the girls race in 20:50.  Pekin won the team title with Danville-New London taking second.  Hillcrest did not have the five finishers needed for a team score.

Girls Scores
Leah Bontrager        7th       22:08
Delaney Shaw         37th      26:05
Morgyn Nafziger     60th      28:33
Julia Boller                61st      28:40

Team Scores
Pekin                                       20
Danville-New London      51
Cardinal                                 87
Mediapolis                            95
Columbus                           114

Senior Collin Miller had the best race of his high school career at the conference meet at Heritage Oaks Golf Course Thursday near Morning Sun.  Miller placed nineteenth in a field of 109 runners.  His time was 19:20.  The top fifteen finishers are all-conference.  Micah Gerber made his first appearance in over two weeks to resume his position as the teams number two runner.  Gerber placed sixty-first in 21:50.  Fellow freshman Jesse Blossom was next for the Ravens placing sixty-ninth in 22:13.  Senior Jorge Canchola was one place back in a season best time of 22:28.  Diego Ramos rounded out the scoring for the Ravens placing eighty-eighth in 24:37.  Quang Huynh and Garrett Hurst were ninety-ninth and one hundredth places in 27:09 and 27:41 respectively.  Hillcrest Academy placed tenth among the ten full teams.  Danville-New London won the team title with 24 points.  Sixteen schools had runners in the boys race.   Senior Ty Carr of Danville-New London was the individual winner.  His time was 16:55.

Boys Scores                                                                                                                     
Collin Miller            19th      19:20
Micah Gerber          61st      21:50
Jesse Blossom       69th      22:13
Jorge Canchola     70th      22:28
Diego Ramos          88th      24:37
Quang Huynh         99th      27:09
Garrett Hurst        100th      27:41

Team Scores
Danville-New London        24
Columbus                                56
Winfield-Mt. Union            136
Pekin 139 Mediapolis       149
Holy Trinity                           162
Louisa-Muscatine               168
WACO                                       175
Central Lee                            177
Hillcrest Academy              229

Girls Complete Team Results
Girls Complete Individual Results
Boys Complete Team Results
Boys Complete Individual Results

The Hillcrest Academy cross country teams compete next at a meet hosted by Mediapolis at Big Hollow Thursday October 14.