Bontrager earns all-conference honors for third year in a row

Bontrager earns all-conference honors for third year in a row

Junior Leah Bontrager finishes strong at the Southeast Iowa Super Conference cross country meet

Leah Bontrager earned all-conference honors for the third year in a row at the Southeast Iowa Super Conference cross country meet Thursday.  Van Buren Community Schools hosted the meet at River View golf course surrounded by the Des Moines River in Keosauqua.  The field of sixty-one runners started fast while Bontrager found her even pace and worked her way through the competition.  As the other runners slowed, Leah kept getting closer to the front.  At the finish line, Leah was in eighth place.  Her time was 21:29 on the 4.88k route.  The top fifteen finishers are all-conference.  Julia Boller came in next for the Ravens placing thirty-fifth with a time of 25:21.  This was a career best for Julia.  Julia ran negative splits which means each mile was faster than the previous mile.  She was still able to sprint past one more runner as she neared the finish.  Kennedy Roth was the team’s next finisher placing fifty-fifth in 28:40.  Taryn Leichty was the Ravens fourth finisher placing fifty-sixth in 29:26.  Madeline Fox was third in the junior varsity race with a time of 23:16.   Hillcrest did not have enough runners to have a team score. Pekin won the team title.  Addison Parrott of second placed Danville-New London, was the individual medalist finishing in 18:57. 

Girls Varsity
Leah Bontrager                        8th                    21:29
Julia Boller                                35th                  25:21
Kennedy Roth                          55th                  28:40
Taryn Leichty                            56th                 29:26

Girls Junior Varsity
Madeline Fox                             3rd                    23:16

Girls Team Scores
Pekin                                               29
Danville-New London              56
Cardinal                                         89
Central Lee                                   109
Wapello                                          112
Medialpolis                                   115

Senior Will Kolck had his best performance of the year at the conference cross country meet in Keosauqua Thursday.  Kolck placed forty-first in the field of eighty-eight runners with a time of 20:20.  Teammate Collin Miller was seven places back, finishing in 20:40 for forty-eighth place.  Brady Millikin of Pekin won the individual title for the second year in a row with a time of 16:07.  Danville-New London won the team title.  Fifteen schools had runners in the varsity boys race.   

Boys Varsity
Will Kolck                            41st                  20:20              
Collin Miller                        48th                 20:40

Team Scores
Danville-New London                28
Pekin                                                 65
Columbus                                       91
Louisa-Muscatine                        159
Mediapolis                                      166
Winfield-Mt. Union                      168
Cardinal                                           171
Wapello                                            183
Holy Trinity                                     218
Central Lee                                      225
Highland                                          256

The Hillcrest Academy cross country teams compete next at a meet hosted by Mediapolis, at Big Hollow Thursday, October 15. 

Complete SEISC Results