Ravens fly at conference

Ravens fly at conference

The Hillcrest Ravens girls cross country team placed sixth Monday at the Southeast Iowa Super Conference cross country meet in Fairfield.  Fourteen schools were represented in the girls race.  Ten had full teams.  Leah Bontrager placed third overall in 21:07.  Sarena Gerber placed thirteenth in 22:48.  Both Bontrager and Gerber earned all-conference honors by placing in the top fifteen.  Freshman Taryn Leichty had her best performance ever moving up to the number three spot on the team.  Leichty placed forty-sixth in 26:25.  Chloe Staley came in next placing forty-ninth in 26:34.  Julia Boller also had a great run finishing fifty-first in 26:40.  Ainsley Shaw placed sixty-eighth in 40:21.  Pekin, the meet host, won the team title.  Addison Parrott of second placed Danville-New London, was the individual medalist finishing in 19:45.

Team Scores
Girls Individual results Pekin 37
Leah Bontrager 3rd 21:07 Danville-New London 66
Sarena Gerber 13th 22:48 Mediapolis 117
Taryn Leichty 46th 26:25 Highland 126
Chloe Staley 49th 26:34 Cardinal 130
Julia Boller 51st 26:40 Hillcrest Academy 135
Ainsley Shaw 68th 40:21 Wapello 177
WACO 192
Louisa-Muscatine 202
Columbus 219

Three first-year team members represented Hillcrest Academy in the boys conference race in Fairfield.  Colby Harris led the way placing fifty-sixth in 21:05.  This was Colby’s best cross country race yet.  Will Kolck was two seconds and one place back finishing in 21:07 for fifty-seventh place.  Owen Swartzendruber also competed well placing sixty-seventh in 21:52.  Brady Millikin of Pekin beat teammate and two-time defending conference champion, Colten Glosser, for the individual title.  Millikin ran 16:51 while Glosser ran 16:59.  Pekin won the boys team title.  Fifteen schools had runners in the varsity boys race.

The Hillcrest Academy cross country teams compete next at a meet hosted by Mediapolis at Big Hollow Thursday October 17.

Boys Individual results Team Scores
Colby Harris 56th 21:05 Pekin 39
Will Kolck 57th 21:07 Danville-New London 44
Owen Swartzendruber 67th 21:52 Wapello 112
Columbus 145
Winfield-Mt. Union 180
Cardinal 187
Van Buren 197
Notre Dame, West Burlington 222
Central Lee 233
Holy Trinity 262
Lone Tree 284
Mediapolis 291
Louisa Muscatine 310
Highland 385